Charity

Polylux is a non-profit charity and social welfare organisation, which is situated on the Datzeberg – a housing estate in Neubrandenburg. We want to play an active role in shaping this neighbourhood. Since 2008, we’ve been catering to the social, spiritual and cultural needs of the people around us. We work with around 50 people on average.

Our Heart

The word „polylux“ means much light. Light is an essential ingredient to life. Life brings about growth and development. What we hope for and work towards is for everything that happens through the name of polylux to become brighter, warmer and more colourful. That life will unfold and beauty will prevail. As Christians we believe that this life-giving light comes from God and that He wants to shine through us, making Himself known to our fellow neighbours.

 

1

The Community Aspect

polylux is so much more than a social work charity that offers different projects. Behind polylux is a community of Christians who work together, eat together, argue together, pray together, dream together, celebrate together and solve crossword puzzles together. We are part of the international 24-7 Prayer network and we are fascinated by the idea of sharing our life with God, our neighbours and each other – in a way that is open and inviting. Our community is so much a home as it is a mental support for many of our employees at polylux.

Practice & Concept

Empowerment

We don’t just want to offer programmes that others can consume off. In fact, we want to walk alongside children, young people and adults through the encouraging process of self-empowerment. That means that we want to find ways with them in which they can shape their own lives and can positively influence their living environment.

Identification

What makes our work special is our location on the Datzeberg. In other words, the majority of our employees knowingly live in the area and not only share working life together in this respect but also freetime and in some cases private friendships with some of the people from the Datzeberg. We don’t just want to be identified as social workers but also as neighbours and friends.

Engagement

Our volunteers have been the backbone to our work from the very beginning. We work with around 50 people on average. Some sporadic, the majority regulars. That makes us very happy and we do not take them for granted. Therefore it is all the more important for us to live a positive and appreciative employee culture. We hope that our volunteers can preferably work in their core competencies. To make this possible, it is an important part of our work for our employees to release our volunteers and to do the important behind-the-scenes work.

Cooperation

We are neither lone-wolves nor all-rounders. Therefore we partner with others to compile resources and make a positive impact in our neighbourhood. We’ll gladly work with religious or local partners and of course, with the residents of the Datzeberg.

Sign up to our newsletter!

What's new? We'll send out regular updates around 4x a year, giving you insights into our work.

Reference to the processing of your information and the right to object is found in our Data Protection Statement

Our Partners

 

Follow Us

Support Us

Contact 

Alfred-Haude-Straße 7
17034 Neubrandenburg
Germany
+49 395-35 17 65 30

Verein

Polylux ist ein gemeinnütziger Verein und Träger der freien Jugendhilfe, der im Neubrandenburger Plattenbaugebiet Datzeberg zu Hause ist. Diesen Ort möchten wir mitgestalten. Hier setzen wir uns seit 2008 für soziale, geistliche und kulturelle Belange der Menschen um uns herum ein. Mittlerweile engagieren sich bei uns etwa 50 Menschen.

Unser Herz

Das Wort „polylux“ bedeutet „viel Licht“. Licht ist eine entscheidende Zutat zum Leben. Licht bewirkt Wachstum und Entwicklung. Wir wünschen uns und arbeiten dafür, dass es durch alles, was im Namen von polylux geschieht, heller, bunter und wärmer wird. Dass sich Leben entfalten kann und Schönheit sichtbar wird. Als Christen glauben wir, dass dieses Leben spendende Licht von Gott kommt. Und dass er durch uns durchstrahlen und so sichtbar werden möchte.

 

1

Der Community-Aspekt

Polylux ist weit mehr als nur ein sozialer Verein, unter dessen Dach verschiedene Projekte stattfinden. Hinter polylux steht eine Gemeinschaft von Christen, die gemeinsam arbeiten, essen, streiten, beten, träumen, feiern und Kreuzworträtsel lösen. Wir sind Teil des internationalen 24-7 Prayer Netzwerks und fasziniert von der Idee, unser Leben mit Gott, miteinander und mit unseren Nachbarn zu teilen – und das auf eine offene und einladende Weise. Unsere Community ist sowohl Heimat als auch mentaler Rückhalt für viele Mitarbeiter von polylux.

Praxis & Konzept

Empowerment

Wir wollen nicht nur Angebote anbieten, die andere konsumieren können. Vielmehr gehen wir mit Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen ermutigende Prozesse der Selbstermächtigung. Das heißt: Wir wollen mit ihnen Wege finden, wie sie ihr Leben selbst gestalten und ihr Lebensumfeld aktiv und positiv beeinflussen können.

Identifikation

Eine Besonderheit unserer Arbeit stellt unsere personale Verortung im Stadtteil Datzeberg dar. Anders ausgedrückt: Ein Großteil unserer Mitarbeiter lebt bewusst in diesem Viertel und teilt in dieser Hinsicht nicht nur das Arbeitsleben, sondern darüber hinaus auch Freizeit und gegebenenfalls private Freundschaften mit einigen Datzebergern. Wir möchten nicht nur Sozialarbeiter sein, sondern auch Nachbarn und Freunde.

Engagement

Von Anfang an war das Bürgerschaftliche Engagement (Ehrenamt) das Rückgrat unserer Arbeit. Mittlerweile engagieren sich bei uns etwa 50 tolle Menschen. Einige sporadisch, die meisten regelmäßig. Das macht uns sehr glücklich und ist nicht selbstverständlich. Deshalb ist es uns umso wichtiger, eine positive und wertschätzende Mitarbeiterkultur zu leben.
Wir wünschen uns, dass EhrenamtlerInnen möglichst viel in ihren Kernkompetenzen arbeiten können. Um dies zu ermöglichen, ist es ein wichtiger Arbeitsbereich unserer Angestellten, unsere ehrenamtlichen MitarbeiterInnen freizusetzen und wichtige Hintergrundarbeit zu leisten.

Vernetzung

Wir sind weder Einzelkämpfer noch Alleskönner. Deshalb vernetzen wir uns, um Ressourcen zu bündeln und positiv in unseren Stadtteil hinein zu wirken. Gerne arbeiten wir sowohl mit kirchlichen und kommunalen Partnern und natürlich auch mit den BewohnerInnen des Datzeberges zusammen.

Melde dich gerne für unseren Freundesbrief an!

Was gibt es Neues? Wir geben dir regelmäßig
(ca. 4x im Jahr) Einblicke in unsere Arbeit.

Hinweise zur Verarbeitung deiner Angaben und Wiederspruchsrechte findest du in unserer Datenschutzerklärung

Unsere Partner

 

Folge uns

Unterstützen

Kontakt 

Alfred-Haude-Straße 7
17034 Neubrandenburg
0395-35 17 65 30